‘Cos just making do-oo-ooo ain’t always right for you (in the voice of Baloo)

You remember the Jungle Book? Mowgli? Baloo singing the bear necessities of life? Catchy and cute, but not sure if I believe it. And even if I did, I somehow don’t think I would be satisfied.

Because I have extrapolated a deep and profound lesson from my visit to the doctor. Not the one that was for Little Person’s hearing, which I nearly forgot about and ended up dashing back from the parking lot of the shop without actually going into the shop (tip: if you want to confuse a child, do that) and rushing in only to realise the appointment was at 3.50 not 3.40, not that one, the other one. The one in the morning where I told the doc I had a sort of sore ear but not really and it was hardly worth mentioning but it wasn’t going away so maybe she should have a look. That one.

Turns out it’s inflamed for some reason. It may be a localised infection, it may be the sinuses putting pressure on things, but she gave me a little ear spray thing to squirt in my ear. I thought it made my ear feel weird, until the effects wore off and my mood went all grumpy and my ear felt vaguely painful. Turns out that actually, I have had a sore ear for the last few months, but I just made do because it didn’t feel that bad. Except pain like that over a length of time messes with your head, makes it difficult to be the best version of yourself. So in that case, making do isn’t the best thing to do.

Of course, when you’re faced with a fridge full of leftovers and vegetables that are heading rapidly towards the dodgy end of the continuum, making do is helpful. Not every day has to be pristine and perfect. The other visit to the doctor’s room, when the lady was taking my bloods and ended up niggling against the nerve so I was in pain taught me that one. All I did was wriggle my toes with intent concentration while having a conversation about why sometimes having blood tests can be painful, how “you can’t see or feel nerves, but when you touch one you know about it” – that’s a whole other life lesson right there). I didn’t tell her to pull the needle out and try again (I have had that happen in the past). Sometimes it is about making do, sometimes making do is actally making better, and sometimes making do is the more than merely unnecessary, it is downright detrimental.

Problem is knowing which on’s which, because they don’t come with neon signs.

Leave a Reply

