And To All A Good Night

Somebody drove a car into the back of my car on Friday morning. The Dude has been wrestling a cold for the last few days, and my dad has had various maladies too. And to top it all off, Little Person has just gone off to sleep with a sore tummy. Or is going off to sleep with a sore tummy, after not really eating that much today.

I have plenty of reasons to be have expected a grumpy Christmas. I have plenty of reasons to complain, if I want to. But I am not going to. And I’m not even going to use the “there are people worse off than me” excuse either, because there is somebody at the end of that chain who cannot say “there is somebody worse off than me.”

But I have learnt some lessons over this week. I have learnt how far I have come. I have learnt how to carry on anyway. It’s going to be a grumpy Christmas? Have Christmas anyway. What’s the worst that can happen? It’s grumpy – but you already knew that.

As it turned out, it wasn’t a grumpy Christmas. It was beautiful, and brilliant, and bittersweet. It was more than I could have ever hoped for, and yet full of the memories that would not be made. And I know that from now, every Christmas will be like this. There will always be a part of my heart missing somebody.

But I have a peace in that knowledge, in knowing that sometimes things are difficult in unexpected ways. I have peace in knowing that it’s not about the car accident, or the illnesses, but it’s about the decisions we make for the good of our family.

So tonight, I wish you peace, and sweet dreams. I wish you a Christmas Season that you will always smile to remember, and never regret. I wish you a 2015 full of good decisions and wisdom, and all the best kind of adventures and plenty of rest when you need it. May this coming year fill your hearts with the happiness that comes from unexpected places.

Leave a Reply

