Why Yes I Do Have a Life Metaphor (or Three), Thank You For Asking

(Again, a Kickstart Creativity thing)

For once, I was organised and had a casserole in the oven before I went to collect Little Person, and when I returned I put on the rice cooker so that we could have a delicious, nutritious meal together. And on top of that, The Dude was home early, Little Person was in a good mood and we had an impromptu game of Tig, which involved me chasing them up the stairs. Not the best for my back, but brilliant for the soul.

The kind of day that sort of fits with The Dude’s idea of a life metaphor: “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re going to get.” (His other contributions were stupid is as stupid does – I get so annoyed when he says that – and “Ours is not to reason why, ours is but to do and die; and so into the valley of death road the 400.” Apparently other people get annoyed when he quotes this. I may have misquoted him.)

My life metaphor used to be that life was a book, and you’re always turning over the page, onto something new, or a new chapter. And that’s what it is like when you are reading a book, but writing a book, chapters and pages are trickier. Sometimes they are fairly arbitrary, sometimes we spend hours agonising and trying to work out the right space for the break. The pause can both add and detract from the reader’s experience, and the writer is trying to manage that moment from afar. Tricky. So I ditched the book as a life metaphor.

But life, your life, is still a story. And a story is more than the events that happen – the story includes the meaning that you attach to it. So tell your story well – because it is very difficult (if not impossible) to separate the story from the way that it is told.

And life is a journey, with ins and outs and ups and downs, mishaps and memories. Pack light and prepare well, and know that inevitably, you will end up leaving something behind.

And life is a battle. You are either in a battle, recovering from a battle, or preparing for a battle. So be wise, look beyond this present moment. It’s not always about the now. It is not always you that you are fighting for.

And those are my three favourite life metaphors. I am sure they tell you a great deal about me as a person, but I don’t think I want to know.

No, really. I don’t want to know. Tell me your life metaphor instead.

One thought on “Why Yes I Do Have a Life Metaphor (or Three), Thank You For Asking

Leave a Reply

