Lessons From A Bathtub

Yesterday I was running a bath for Little Person, as I do every evening. And as I do with some regularity, I got the temperature wrong. First, it was too hot. So I switched on the cold water full blast and walked out to do something, got a bit distracted, and then it was too cold. And everybody knows that once that happens (especially if the bath has already gotten quite deep because you forgot about it twice already), you have to let some of the water out. So I pulled the plug, and turned on the hot water. And sat on the toilet seat while I waited for the system to right itself.

Only, I took my phone out and got distracted reading a blog. The article was longer than I expected, but our hot water runs quite slowly upstairs so I knew it would be a while before the bath would be up to temperature again. Only thing was, I’d forgotten about the plug. By the time I realised, the entire bath had emptied and I had to start over. Worse yet, I had to tell The Dude that there would be a delay because I had accidentally emptied the bath.

Sometimes though, we can be like that. We can forget that there are thing in our lives that are, for the moment, a drain on our resources. It could be illness, it could be fears. Sometimes it can be good things. Weddings, celebrations, repairing relationships. And we carry on like before, and then wonder why we have no oomph, no water in our bath, why we have nothing left to give.

Here’s the thing. It’s your bath. It’s your plug. It’s your responsibility. If you can’t remove the drain on your resources, find ways to increase the water pressure so that the bath stays full enough. Find a way so that sometimes you can just put the plug back in. Keep an eye on it. Don’t forget about it. Because when a bath is empty, you can’t do what needs doing. And sometimes, the time it takes to fill it up again is the difference between bathing a happy but somewhat tired Little Person , and a grumpy, needy over-tired Little Person. Or equivalent (obviously).

So take care of yourself. Or there is no way you can take care of other people.

2 thoughts on “Lessons From A Bathtub

Leave a Reply

