Raising a boy in a world of gender stereotypes

This is not a topic I tend to write about but that doesn’t mean I don’t think about it. Since I am female and so is Little Person I have no real experience of gender equality issues from the male perspective. (Apart from what The Dude explains to me. But again that is his experience not mine.)

crazy mama, PhD

During a recent conversation with my parents, the subject of college-branded baby clothes arose.  (My parents live near my alma mater and are fond of purchasing such themed items.)

“Little Boy’s going to need a new college onesie,” I said.  “He’s already nearly outgrown the one you gave us for Christmas.”

“We’ll keep an eye out,” they promised.  “Mostly what we’ve seen in stores lately is baby cheerleading outfits, and those aren’t for him.”

They’re not for him.

Why not?

For this particular question, the answer is personal taste.  I wouldn’t go out of my way to dress my hypothetical baby daughter in a cheerleading costume, either — it’s just not my style.  And lest you get the wrong idea about my parents, they raised a boy who played with dolls and a girl who won science competitions.  They would be appalled to think that I was using them…

View original post 796 more words

One thought on “Raising a boy in a world of gender stereotypes

Leave a Reply

