A Journey Into Learning To Love What Must Be Done

Ladies and gentlemen, the school holidays are over and we have survived. Actually, we did more than survive. We thrived. Little Person did an impression of a weed growing in fertilizer and shot up at least an inch (cue urgent need for new clothes just before we went away), we tried glamping for the first time, and my weird strawberry plants continue to survive. I got to spend time with my parents, The Dude got time with his parents and overall, while I’m very tired, I am in a much better place than I was seven weeks ago.

Even if we didn’t get the first day of school photo this year. Again. (Of course, this year we didn’t get the second day at school photo either, unlike previous years. I will get a photo. I promise. Maybe.)

In previous years, Little Person has struggled with the whole going back to school thing. When she started reception, she refused to wear her uniform and it took us 45 minutes to dress her. Last year, she just didn’t want to go. It only took about 30 minutes to dress her. This year, she pretty much dressed herself. Not a tear in sight. She actually skipped into school. And better yet, she danced out. You’d think I would be happy about it. But then, I sometimes get stuck thinking about how I think it should be, rather than how it is.

There’s a quote that I have been thinking on recently.

“Cease endlessly striving for what you would like to do and learn to love what must be done.” – Goethe

(with thanks to this post for starting me on the journey)

The only reason that it would matter that I didn’t get a photo of Little Person on her first day at school is because I can’t show off a photo of her grinning from ear to ear because she’s going to school. But why should that really matter? Or maybe because years from now she’ll say “out of the zillions of photo’s you took of me, you never took one of me that day, on my first day back at school.”

If so, I will say “I wanted to make it like every other day.”

I like making a bit of a fuss over the occasion of a new school year, but Little Person really doesn’t. She likes to know that going to school this year will be just like going to school last year. And I could get really upset that I don’t get to take my photo of her in her new school uniform. Or I could take her out for chocolate cake as a reward for us both for surviving the day. So technically, I did get a photo of her on her first day. This one:

2015-09-03 10.51.50

Leave a Reply

